Labor Day Photos

Labor Day, established in 1882 to celebrate the economic and social contributions of American workers, is one of those holidays that must of us take for granted…it’s a day off, a three-day weekend, what more does there have to be? This labor day I decided to go out and see what some American workers were doing. Here are some images I found today.

This guy was up early making restaurant deliveries.

These guys are working to get a cafe up and running by Sept. 15! They have a long way to go, but seem confident they can get it done. Apparently the landlord for the current site of one of my favorite cafes (A’Cuppa Tea in Berkeley on College) wanted a bigger name coffee chain in his building. I won’t say the name, but it rhymes with cheats!

Another guy trying to get the new location for A’Cuppa Team ready in time for the transition.

There is something about a group of workers pointing that I can’t resist. These guys are perfect.

Cleaning up in downtown Oakland is, apparently, a job that never takes a holiday.

Not a worker by most standards, this woman was rummaging through garbage in a parking lot in downtown Oakland. I knew when I shot it that it was overexposed, but I love the way it turned out.

Not everybody was working this morning.

I’m not sure why, but I was quite eager not to get in this guy’s way. I love how he and his dog have the same confident stride.

Not quite 9:30, this woman is getting ready for the lunch crowd.

Down near Lake Merritt, lots of folks are exercising rather than working.

This guy is looking good.

Gaylord’s on Piedmont Avenue (I had a bagel).

She was quite reluctant to let me take her picture, but finally relented. She had, I think, already had a long day.

Leave a Reply

